External Advisory Board

2010 External Advisory Board Meeting

The purpose of the External Advisory Board (EAB) of the Institute is to provide guidance on the relationship of IESP and its programs to current trends and opportunities in research, the regulatory environment, and new models of environmental management outside of the University. Its members suggest new directions for IESP, offer commentary on existing programs and results of ongoing research at UIC, and assist in mobilizing resources for underwriting IESP initiatives.

The membership of the EAB is drawn from knowledgeable experts from industry, government (both federal and local), non-profit agencies, and academia. Members are appointed for three year renewable terms by the Director, with consultation from the IESP staff and faculty.

EAB Annual Meetings

EAB Members

Weslynne Ashton, PhD

Assistant Professor of Environmental Management and Sustainability
Stuart School of Business, Illinois Institute of Technology
10 West 35th Street, 18th Floor, Chicago, IL 60616
Phone: (312) 906-6517 | Fax: (312) 906-6549
E-mail: washton@iit.edu

Frank Avila, PhD, PE, PLS

Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago
100 East Erie Street, Suite 209, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone: 312-751-5620 | Fax: 312-751-5625
E-mail: frank.avila@mwrd.org

Ron Burke

Executive Director
Active Transportation Alliance
9 West Hubbard Street, Suite 402, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone: 312-216-0482 | Email: ron@activetrans.org

Heriberto Cabezas, PhD

Senior Science Advisor, Sustainable Technology Division
National Risk Management Research Lab
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
26 West Martin Luther King Drive, Cincinnati, OH 45268
Phone: 513-569-7350 | E-mail: cabezas.heriberto@epa.gov

Jennifer B. Dunn, PhD

Environmental Analyst
Argonne National Laboratory
9700 South Cass Avenue, Building 362, Argonne, IL 60439
Phone: 630-252-4667 | E-mail: jdunn@anl.gov

Harriet Festing

Director, Water Program
Center for Neighborhood Technology
2125 West North Avenue, Chicago, IL 60647
Phone: 773-269-4042 | E-mail: hfesting@cnt.org

Robin L. Graham, PhD

Deputy Associate Laboratory Director
Computing, Environment and Life Sciences
Argonne National Laboratory
9700 South Cass Avenue, Building 240, Argonne, IL 60439
Phone: (630) 252-5677 | Fax: (630) 252-6333
E-mail: grahamrl@anl.gov

Melida Pruett-Jones

Executive Director
Chicago Wilderness
8 South Michigan Ave, Suite 900, Chicago, IL 60603
Phone: 312-580-2156
E-mail: melida.pruett-jones@chicagowilderness.org

Walter Kovalick, PhD

8th Avenue Consulting
305 8th Avenue, LaGrange, IL 60525
Phone: 708-218-0099 | E-mail: 8thaveconsulting@gmail.com

Timothy T. Loftus, PhD

Water Resource Planner
NE Illinois Regional Water Supply Planning
Chicago Metropolitan Agency for Planning
233 South Wacker Drive, Suite 800, Chicago, IL 60606
Phone: 312-386-8666 | E-mail: tloftus@cmap.illinois.gov

Eric Masanet, PhD

Northwestern University
2145 Sheridan Road, Tech L494, Evanston, IL 60208-3109
Phone: 847-467-2806
Email: eric.masanet@northwestern.edu

Shelie A. Miller, PhD

Assistant Professor
School of Natural Resources and Environment, University of Michigan
3008 Dana Building, 440 Church Street, Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1041
Phone: 734-763-8646 | E-mail: sheliem@umich.edu

George P. Nassos, PhD

George P. Nassos & Associates Inc.
Phone: 847-927-3526
E-mail: georgepnassos@gmail.com

Jeffery P. Perl, PhD, CHMM

President, Principal Engineer
Chicago Chem Consultants Corporation
Chemical & Environmental Engineers
14 North Peoria Street, Suite 2C, Chicago, IL 60607-2609
Phone: 312-226-2436
E-mail: jefferyperl@chichem.com

Paul D. Robillard, PhD

Executive Director
World Water Watch
3300 NW 185th, # 175, Portland, OR 97229
Phone: 971-777-0077 | E-mail: pdr@worldwaterwatch.org

Claire Woolley, LEED AP

Founder and CEO
325 West Huron Street, Suite 300, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone: (773) 968-4982 | E-mail: claire_woolley@hotmail.com